»  BC-BF Legacy Discussion »  Electrical
#code 31 TPS

Custom Search
Login | Register




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: code 31 TPS
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 12:50 am 
First Gear
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:49 am
Posts: 152
Location: socal
i got a code 31.(91ss with jdm ver2 ej20g and ecu)
it comes on right after ignition on.
clear the code but still comes back.
perform input and output test.
i got 4.6v on closed and 0.5v on WOT
any idea?


Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: code 31 TPS
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 3:05 am 
Vikash
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 2:13 am
Posts: 13020
Location: USA, OH, Cleveland (sometimes visiting DC though)
Are you measuring the voltage at the ECU pins or at the TPS?

How does the car drive? Does it stumble when you first press the throttle?

_________________
"Just reading vrg3's convoluted, information-packed posts made me feel better all over again." -- subyluvr2212


Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: code 31 TPS
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 4:16 am 
First Gear
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:49 am
Posts: 152
Location: socal
i measured it from ecu pins.
car drive normal but it stumble when i first press the throttle.


Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: code 31 TPS
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 5:04 am 
Vikash
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 2:13 am
Posts: 13020
Location: USA, OH, Cleveland (sometimes visiting DC though)
Hmm, that's odd. All I can think of is that either the harness connector isn't making good contact with the ECU pin, or there's a problem inside the ECU.

It might be possible to pull the contact out of the harness connector and kind of bend the metal slightly to make it grip the ECU pin more firmly.

Did the problem just come up out of nowhere one day?

_________________
"Just reading vrg3's convoluted, information-packed posts made me feel better all over again." -- subyluvr2212


Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: code 31 TPS
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 5:36 am 
First Gear
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:49 am
Posts: 152
Location: socal
problem started after i did ej20g swap


Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: code 31 TPS
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 5:48 am 
Vikash
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 2:13 am
Posts: 13020
Location: USA, OH, Cleveland (sometimes visiting DC though)
Oh, so it's been there the whole time... How did you wire in the EJ20G ECU? Just used the stock wiring and modified it for the extra ignition channels? If that's what you did, and there was no code before, I guess that means the ECU is more likely. You don't have access to another ECU to test, do you?

_________________
"Just reading vrg3's convoluted, information-packed posts made me feel better all over again." -- subyluvr2212


Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: code 31 TPS
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 10:01 pm 
First Gear
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:49 am
Posts: 152
Location: socal
found the problem.
worn out or loose pins cause code31.
replaced all three pins and problem fixed.
thanks


Profile  Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: code 31 TPS
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 5:56 am 
Vikash
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 2:13 am
Posts: 13020
Location: USA, OH, Cleveland (sometimes visiting DC though)
Nice work.

_________________
"Just reading vrg3's convoluted, information-packed posts made me feel better all over again." -- subyluvr2212


Profile  Offline
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

Panel

Top You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Dizayn Ercan Koc