Better intake manifold for my ej22t?

Snorkus, filters, throttle bodies and intake manifolds.

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

Subierotic
In Neutral

Better intake manifold for my ej22t?

Post by Subierotic »

Hi, newbie here. I have a 94 turbo wagon, and ive been wanting to increase the efficiency and power of the motor. I do not intend on doing a DOHC head swap, so my question is if any SOHC intake manifold will work for me? Will something from, say, a 2005 forester bolt up? I can have EGR ports welded up, so that is no concern. I'm looking for better bottom end grunt, so longer runners and bigger plenum is what I'm looking for. Any recomendations?

And just so I don't get a bunch of other power recomendations, I DO have a 3" turbo back system on it, and have done coffee cup/snorkus already. I don't plan on bigger injectors anytime soon, so bigger turbo and cams are out of the question for the moment. Just looking to improve the efficiency of air coming in, now that it is going out just fine.
jefferson
Third Gear

Re: Better intake manifold for my ej22t?

Post by jefferson »

You might just have the stock one extrudehoned. That is the plan I have for mine. The before and after dyno article I saw was on a mustang manifold and they saw an increase in the low end. They attributed it to the cooler intake charge due to the smoother walls giving up less heat to the air.

I would also recommend the 45 degree airbox mod. Well worth the effort.

Jeff
91 Black SS 5spd. Edm lights, wrx gauges in dash, 45 degree airbox, cryoed drilled and slotted brakes. Invidia divorced downpipe with custom stainless exhaust. To be installed, aluminum a-arms, manual belts, awic.
kimokalihi
Fifth Gear

Post by kimokalihi »