window tinting

Anything and Everything about the Body, from paint to undercoating and interior, including in-car entertainment (ICE).

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

ride_child
Third Gear

window tinting

Post by ride_child »

anybody in the area thats done their own window tinting before? i watched the mighty car mods episode and i can probably do it myself, id just rather have some one who has doe it before to assist. beer and food will be used as payment. oh and i am a chef...
Kris

'91 Mica White SS - R.I.P.
'88 White RX Turbo sedan - SOLD
'91 Black SS - SOLD
'93 Silver Turbo Wagon - Hibernation/Project Mode
'91 Black Camry Alltrac - R.I.P.
'09 DGM Forester XT Limited - Daily
magicmike
Fifth Gear

Re: window tinting

Post by magicmike »

Hi there. I did it professionally for many years when I was younger. Its one of those things that when you watch it in a video you say to yourself "wow, that looks easy, I should be able to do that" The thing is that it is like an art form and there are tons of little nuances and tricks that are not being seen in the video or being explained by the person doing it. Like everything else it takes A LOT of practice to get good at it. It also takes a TON of skill to do any window with compound curves in it. If you'd like to try it out I'll offer up some advice as I do encourage people to try things for themselves to learn.

1. Clean the ever living shit out of the windows. This means scrape the windows with a single edge razor blade using soapy water. Use a soft dish scruffy pad on the back window to not damage the defroster obviously.
2. Get one of those pump bottle from home depot that are used to spray insecticides or plant food, you can find them in the garden department. After 1 window of trying to use a squirt bottle you'll be ready to quit.