Noob Requiring EJ22T Wisdom

That spinning thing that makes all of the cool noises. OE and Aftermarket.

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

CFK
Second Gear

Noob Requiring EJ22T Wisdom

Post by CFK »

Hi, Im new to modifying Subies and just purchased a 92 SS T. The car has been very neglected besides a recent tune-up, body & interior is real rough, but drives strong while spitting oil onto the exhaust mani.

Basically this will be my winter/daily driver while im building my 84 Jetta and the wifes using the Audi Avant. I don't plan to go to nuts ( small Budget ), but would like to clean it up visually and mechanically while getting a few more ponies out of the glorious EJ22T.

So after some searching I just want to do a few easier and cheaper mods that I could do while fixing the cam/ VC seals and TB. So finally the real ? :roll:

Decent, cheap, easy start ? Prices ?

Turbo: TD04, TD05, VF39 ?

Intercooler: 06-07 WRX. 07 FXT ?

Y-Pipe, WG, BPV, Injectors ? And the last :?: Can I do all this on the factory management or do I need a chip?

I just want to make sure I get ALL the right parts and for a decent price. Any help would be appreciated. Cheers.

Reid.
Build Thread : HERE
92 SS 5MT. Project Daily
84 Jetta Coupe. Real Project
99 A4 Avant. Wife's Daily
Florin1
Fourth Gear

Re: Noob Requiring EJ22T Wisdom

Post by Florin1 »

for cheap go with td04 ~ $100, 06/07 TMIC ~ $60-$80, ebay y pipe kit ~$70, and t-bolt clamps ~$20, your injectors and ecu are fine.
1994 Legacy Sport Sedan.
1991 Legacy Sport Sedan.
wtdash
Fifth Gear

Post by wtdash »

Hi,
Welcome to THE site (OK the ONLY site) for '90-94 Legacys. You need to do some more searching.....but let me get you started...see below.
CFK wrote:
Turbo: TD04, TD05, VF39 ?