Gear oil performance? Take a look...

Flywheel, Clutch, Transmission, Axles, etc...

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

MrTodd
First Gear

Gear oil performance? Take a look...

Post by MrTodd »

So I've been researching about different types of common gear oils, all in the 75w-90 weight for our transmissions, and I found a very interesting research article comparing a variety of oils available from the parts stores...

Check it out.

http://www.grattaoil.com/wh/A-Study-of- ... -Lubes.pdf

If the above link doesn't work, let me know! I have the PDF saved on my computer.

Anyway, in the end, I'm not saying that these are the best oils to use in our transmissions (as I'm new to Subarus, and I still have a lot to learn), but I think it will have me steer clear of a certain select few when it comes to refilling my differential and transmission. Now, I just wish I could see how Subaru's Extra-S formula compares!

Cheers.
Last edited by MrTodd on Fri Jun 20, 2014 4:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
rallyak
Third Gear

Re: Gear oil performance? Take a look...

Post by rallyak »

Nice read, maybe that why my transmission has been happy. I've been using amsoil severe gear for a few years with redline lightweight shock proof and haven't had any problems. It use to grind between 1st and 2nd a little after rebuild and changed oil after 500 miles to amsoil.
Charles

90' White/Gray Outback DD workhorse (670,xxx) miles
92' Onyx Metallic (430,xxx) Wife's DD
68' Barracuda formula S 340 4spd coupe (ongoing project)
66' Mustang 2+2 4spd wife's (ongoing project)
MrTodd
First Gear

Post by MrTodd »

Nice!

Yeah, it is crazy how the Amsoil basically aced every test. Where did you end up buying yours? I'm starting to think I should use that on my wife's new WRX..

(EDIT: nevermind, I just now gave in and ordered directly from the Amsoil site)
Last edited by MrTodd on Fri Jun 20, 2014 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kimokalihi
Fifth Gear

Post by kimokalihi »