Offest of stock five spoke SS wheels?

Where the power meets the road.

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

Bez
In Neutral

Offest of stock five spoke SS wheels?

Post by Bez »

Does anyone know what the stock offset (ET) of the Legacy Turbo five spoke alloy wheels is? Is it 53 mm the same as the third-gen snowflake wheels?

Thanks,

Bez
n2x4
Fourth Gear

Post by n2x4 »

Just out of curiosity, is there a particular reason you're concerned with the offset?

I think stock subaru wheels range anywhere from +55 to +48. As long as you're in that range, you're safe. I'd be willing to run as low as +45 before I thought my wheel bearings would suffer.

If you run any stock 5x100 subaru wheel on your car, you won't have fitment issues.
SUBARUEHS Racing
Bez
In Neutral

Why the correct offset?

Post by Bez »

Probably because I am a mechanical engineer and prefer to have the correct offset on the rim as it does affect the design bearing loads. A 55 mm ET on a car designed for a 48mm offset (i.e. Forester) even thought it is only 7 mm, changes the ET by 15% from the original design spec.

We have two Legacys, a Forester and an Impreza in our Subaru fleet and I never swap wheels between cars.

Bez
ScottyS
Second Gear

Re: Why the correct offset?

Post by ScottyS »

Bez wrote:Probably because I am a mechanical engineer and prefer to have the correct offset on the rim as it does affect the design bearing loads. A 55 mm ET on a car designed for a 48mm offset (i.e. Forester) even thought it is only 7 mm, changes the ET by 15% from the original design spec.

We have two Legacys, a Forester and an Impreza in our Subaru fleet and I never swap wheels between cars.

Bez
Except that, the bearing spec is the same for like 15 years or more, the hubs and knuckles are direct replacements for like 15 years or more, and people have been swapping OEM 5x100 wheels for like 15 years or more and wheel bearing issues are not a chronic problem.