Brake upgrade recommendation 94 legacy wagon w/ 15" wheels

Where the power meets the road.

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

LostChevyGuy
In Neutral

Brake upgrade recommendation 94 legacy wagon w/ 15" wheels

Post by LostChevyGuy »

Hi all. First let me say thanks for a great site. I'm new to subies and been lurking on the forums for a few weeks now. Lots of great info here.

I've read through the various brake FAQs but my head is kinda spinning. I recently picked up a 94 legacy wagon (non-turbo) and turning it into a reliable/cheap daily driver (emphasis on the cheap, since I'm recently unemployed).

It's a 2.2, 5 speed car and has the rear non-vented discs. It's currently sitting on 14" steelies. I picked up a cheap set of 15" alloys I think were from an early imprezza. Upon doing a ghetto brake job (pads) I found that the front right caliper bolt/slider was rusted and seized up. I managed to get it loose and clean it up but it's got play now so I'm looking to do a general brake upgrade (could use new rotors anyway & the rear calipers are more rust than metal). I'd like to stick with the 15" wheels as tires are cheaper, but if there really aren't any good options I'm not opposed to 16s, have seen some on CL locally.

I know the turbo legacy parts should all bolt on, but they are still fairly small rotors & seem kinda hard to find. I'm thinking H6 for rear setup and the 294/295 rotors & WRX calipers up front, but I saw the note that they only work with some 15" wheels. Anyone have any more info on this?

Have found lots of aftermarket rotors that are cheaper than OEMs (ebay), any good/bad experiences with them?

Also anyone have a good source for some inexpensive steel braided lines? I'm a Chevy performance guy so I'm used to the $75 complete sets from Earls. Not finding anything close to that though. :)
LostChevyGuy
In Neutral

Re: Brake upgrade recommendation 94 legacy wagon w/ 15" whee

Post by LostChevyGuy »