New guy with questions about my '92 turbo sedan???

Subaru-related topics that don't belong anywhere else...

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

2.2Turbo
In Neutral

New guy with questions about my '92 turbo sedan???

Post by 2.2Turbo »

I purchased a very clean all stock '92 turbo sedan last week. The car has 90,000 miles on it at this time. One owner, lady driven. I have several questions about general mods and tune up.

I love turbo cars and have three turbo Buicks, one '86 Grand National and two '87 turbo T Types. So I have some knowledge of turbo tuning and basic set up.

I will be using this car for a daily driver wanting to retain the good fuel mileage.

These are my plans first off:

Full tune up, plugs, wires, fuel filter etc.

Adjustable fuel pres. reg.

Down pipe and exhaust

Ram air intake with cold air box

Boost gauge

I would like to know what stright flowing muffler will work good and not be very loud? I use the Dyno Max Ultra Flow mufflers on my turbo Buicks but thought it may be loud on the Legacy.?

I fab and make most of my parts so the exhaust and air intake want be a big deal to fab up. I was going to make the air box out of sheet aluminum and duct the air in through the hole in the fender. I have heard this could reduce bottom end torque, is this true? I don't want that.

I have not been able to find a gauge pod for the "A" piller for my boost gauge. Where is the best place to mount a boost gauge?

Is there a way to read knock retard? I use a heads up display with the Buicks that shows O2 readings and knock retard. this is good for tuning.

Sorry for the long thread and all of the questions but I need to know what mods to do first without killing fuel mileage.

Thanks,
CT
91White-T
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable

Re: New guy with questions about my '92 turbo sedan???

Post by 91White-T »

2.2Turbo wrote:I love turbo cars and have three turbo Buicks, one '86 Grand National and two '87 turbo T Types.