newbie here, need some shifting help

Flywheel, Clutch, Transmission, Axles, etc...

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

FireMarshallStev
In Neutral

newbie here, need some shifting help

Post by FireMarshallStev »

I just got my liscense and sort of inherited my sis's 91 legacy wagon.

I have a question about selecting between "D" and "1", "2", and "3". Whats the difference between just driving in "D" and the other selections? Does it hurt the transmission in normal driving in 1,2,or 3 in any way? I heard they were just better for driving uphill. If not what selection do you guys drive in at different speeds?

P.S. please reply in plain english
When I was a kid my favorite relative was Uncle Caveman.
After school we'd all go play in his cave,
and every once in a while he would eat one of us.
It wasn't until later that I found out that Uncle Caveman was a bear.
THAWA
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable

Post by THAWA »