BOV questions

That spinning thing that makes all of the cool noises. OE and Aftermarket.

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

WhiteLegTurbo
In Neutral

BOV questions

Post by WhiteLegTurbo »

I have a 94 legacy turbo, and i was looking to upgrade the BOV on it, problem is im kinda new at this :oops: . so i was wondering where is the BOV located, and what kind of BOV would i need to buy? Any info would be great.
1994 Subaru Legacy 2.2 turbocharged AWD
ultrasonic
Third Gear

Post by ultrasonic »

When you say "upgrade" do you mean that you want a BOV that works better, or one that sounds louder?
-steve-

03 Legacy L Wagon
91 Legacy Sport Sedan - SOLD
94 Legacy Touring Wagon - SOLD
00 Impreza L Sport Wagon - totaled!
THAWA
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable

Post by THAWA »

Is there really a way to upgrade the stock system? Wouldn't pretty much anything else aside from a brand new one be a downgrade?
Rio Red 90 Legacy LS AWD 174k
Liquid Silver 92 SVX LS-L 88k
[url=http://folding.amdmbpond.com/FoldingForOurFuture.html]Do you fold?[/url]

I'm on First and First. How can the same street intersect with itself? I must be at the nexus of the universe.
legacy92ej22t
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable

Post by legacy92ej22t »

There are 3 main types of bypass valves. The BOV(blow off valve) which vents to atmosphere and has the distinctive PSHHH sound. The DV (diverter valve) which recirculates air back into the intake pre compressor on MAF setup cars (like ours) and has a much quiter Shaaaw sound. And a hybrid which recirculates a certain amount and vents the rest to atmosphere and still gives a BOV PSHHH sound.