Idea

Flywheel, Clutch, Transmission, Axles, etc...

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

Could this work?

Yes
50%
No way in hell
25%
Hmmm
25%

Total votes: 4

Carbix
First Gear

Idea

Post by Carbix »

Coming from a noob <---me: Well i was looking at the posts on of a dogbox or crashbox for shifting. I was thinking. Could an auto tranny be made of a dogbox... what would have to happen for it to work.

Now lets just keep an open mind about it. Lets not think that it cant be done, but how could it be done.

Some of the ideas i had was setting up a pc to control the rpm of the car to match the spin of the gears.

Next im thinking to make it more like a sport auto. something like steering wheel shifter pads. So u still pick when to shift. But it shifts for u...

If it could work what would be the perks? Im thinking this would work vary well for down shifting… could shifting speeds be lowerd?

well im just a noob with a funny idea i want to know what u guys think and how it could be done.
|====.[Legacy. Central].====|
|...............................................|
|=+[Leaving A True Legacy]+=|
Subtle
Third Gear

Post by Subtle »

I've been running a built 4eat for the last year. It also has the stall converter, so it quick off the line. :-)

Also have a manual shifter for it that does push-button shifts, which isn't installed.

But I imagine that the shifts would be instantanious--particularly as on the shifts it goes to full line pressure.

One of the features of the 4eat is that upon acceleration in either first or second the tranny computer sends more torque to the rear. Viscous limited slip center diffs wait for the front wheels to spin before directing torque to the rear.

Haven't been able to find out what proportion the TCU sends to the rear :?:
Subtle (normally aspirated engines suck):
05 Legacy GT Wagon with Cobb chip.
62 Alfa Romeo Spider- had a 1.6 L with 80 hp, now 2 L with 160 torque. Curb weight 2050 lbs.
93 Leg Twgn fmic, vf34, etc. ((sold))