Holy Crap, Is This Normal?

Heads, valves, pistons, rods, crankshaft, etc...

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

Faithbleed
In Neutral

Holy Crap, Is This Normal?

Post by Faithbleed »

Hi All

I'm about to do my first coolant flush and replace. But having a look around the engine I discovered something.

To me this doesnt look right, but I could be wrong...

Ok, so cars have a coolant overflow tank normally right? In a turbo car its a lot smaller, a little sausage looking tube. Well in my setup it goes a little something like this:

Radiator Cap

Overflow Tank/Tube

THE PIPE

This little puppy was just stashed down the side, next to the battery and from the looks of that whole area, has been overflowing coolant all over the place.

Is it supposed to lead somewhere? At the moment I just stashed it back down there an into a whole in the engine bay, which would mean it would leak onto the road if it were to overflow again.

I'm a car noob, so if you could explain this to me, that would be great.

Thanks
91 Legacy GT Turbo Wagon
mikec
Third Gear

Post by mikec »

From what I remember, that all looks right. How high is the coolant level in your overflow bottle? That little one with the cap should be connected to a larger bottle in the fender well (you can see the hose that leads to it in the second picture - the one with the clamp). Its possible that hose is plugged...
"That shouldn't be a problem, since I do regularly visit the realm of subatmospheric manifold pressures." -- vrg3
Faithbleed
In Neutral

Post by Faithbleed »

The Silver tank that has the radiator cap on it leads to the bottom of the overflow tank.

You cant see it actually connected in the pic, because of the wiring, but its does connect up to it.

Just checked it now (car is cold) the small tank/tube is practically empty and the larger silver one is from what I can see, is empty too.

Is the silver tank where I pour the coolant/water mix? Is is bad that both this tanks are empty?