About to do EJ22 head gaskets, need some advice!

Heads, valves, pistons, rods, crankshaft, etc...

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

silence2-38554
In Neutral

About to do EJ22 head gaskets, need some advice!

Post by silence2-38554 »

Alright, working on my girlfriend's '91 Legacy L. EJ22 w/ an auto trans. 234k miles. Cylinder 3 misfires badly, the coolant overflow wreaks of exhaust gasses and it erupts within 10 minutes of driving. Thing is, she needs the car to be in reliable, working order within the next 2 weeks due to an internship she got over the summer. I've never done head gaskets before. I've read through the procedure in the service manual & I'm pretty sure I can do it. I've been working on/tuning my WRX for years & have done plenty of timing belts / clutches / brake jobs, etc. so I don't think it's over my head judging from what I've read on the topic. I do have a few questions, though.
Once the heads are off, will we be able to tell if they are warped before deciding whether or not they need to be resurfaced? Is the warping something I can examine myself? Then, what about the head bolts? Do these need to be replaced? I have heard from some that used head bolts won't torque down properly, while it seems like others have had success.
My other questions are concerning the actual parts I should use. Autozone has a "head gasket kit" for $184 bucks that supposedly includes all gaskets necessary to do the job. On the other hand, there are EJ22 gasket kits on ebay for 30 bucks.... Some come with metal head gaskets, some come with graphite gaskets. Which should I get? Does anyone have a water pump suggestion that comes with a cast impeller? I'd like to avoid a cheapie with a stamped impeller if I could.