Getting into welding

This is for non-Subaru related topics. Keep it realistic please.

Moderator: Moderators

corsair
Third Gear

Getting into welding

Post by corsair »

Hey ya'll, long time

I know that back in the day there were quite a few guys on here who were either welders by trade or had experience in it. Recently I've been working on a few projects for myself and friends (my Civic, a buddy's 914, and a baja prerunner) and I keep coming up on situations where I think to myself "man it'd be really cool if I could weld." So with that in mind, and some saved money from paychecks I've decided to get into it.

I can't go to a school due to the fact that I'm still working on an engineering degree and I have job commitments. So I was thinking of heeding a friend's advice and buying a welder and just going to town, that along with reading up and watching some technique videos is supposedly enough to build some proficiency.

So is that totally wrong or is it worth a shot? Also, if it's what I should do what's a good welder to buy? I was told an inexpensive MIG. I'd likely want to end up able to weld SS for exhausts, steel tubing for cages, some light bodywork stuff, and maybe eventually aluminum for IC/turbo piping.

Shortened Version: Is it worth it to try self taught welding? What's a good beginner welder?
Sam
'93 L AWD Wagon
'08 Honda Civic Si Sedan
93forestpearl
Fifth Gear

Re: Getting into welding

Post by 93forestpearl »

It's totally worth it to just dive into welding. Doing a lot of reading always helps too.

Starting out with a MIG welder is a good option. You can do all the mild and stainless steel you want. I weld all my hot piping with my MIG right now. Just get the right wire.

As far as MIG welders go, having infinite adjustment of your voltage and wire speed help in dialing the welder in to the material you are trying to weld. I get annoyed with the machines that only have four or five adjustments for voltage.