Stereo system build thread

Anything and Everything about the Body, from paint to undercoating and interior, including in-car entertainment (ICE).

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

magicmike
Fifth Gear

Stereo system build thread

Post by magicmike »

DISCLAIMER- Well folks for those who don't know I used to be an installer back in the day when I was just a young lad. Well after installing systems in my previous cars that "never seemed to be finished" (those of you who are installers know what I mean), I decided that I would cut some corners on things that weren't as technically important in the system install but are normally considered to be "good work" or "friggin sweet". Normally I would gut an interior of car completely short of pulling the dashboard. In this case I want to get this done as fast as possible so I'm cutting some steps. The steps that I'm cutting are in my opinion not a big deal for what I'm doing with this car and for "MY" plan for this car.

Thanks for reading :)

Well I'm keeping the wagon for a little while longer due to my financial woes. It makes more sense to sell the g35 and drive the suby with a practically brand new engine in it. So that being said I figured I'd take the approximately 5+ grand worth of stereo equipment under my stairs in the closet and throw some stuff in the car.

Its old stuff but some of you will recognize some of the stuff.

Heres the planned system:

Head unit: Sony CDXC910 - this is by far the finest sounding stereo I've ever owned.
Front stage (Doors): A/D/S 336is - 6.5 inch separates - also one of the finest sounding separates I've heard.
Rear stage (shock towers): A6im's if they fit ;) and I have a set of 4inch ims as a back up.

Midbass: 3 A/D/S AL8 8" subs
Subs: 2 12" kicker comp VR's

Amps
2 A/D/S P840 (40 watts X 8 channel at 4 ohm)
1 A/D/S P4100 (100 watts X 4 channel at 4 ohm)

System layout: