Turbo setup on a na 2.2l

That spinning thing that makes all of the cool noises. OE and Aftermarket.

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

speedmaxx
Second Gear

Turbo setup on a na 2.2l

Post by speedmaxx »

So I'm turboing my 2.2l but I'm kind of confused. This is my first time messing with a turbo set up so it will be a learning process. So far all I have is a 07 wrx ic, I'm currently bidding on a td04, and I'll be picking up a full eBay exhaust down pipe back along with a wrx uppipe and legacy ss headers.

Now what lines run off the turbo? I know there is a coolent and oil line but where do I run them on the block? On my current set up I did the throttle body coolent bypas mod, would I be able to run that line to the turbo for coolent? And for oil can I just tee off the oil preassure sender under the alternator and run it to the turbo?

Also how do I acually get the turbo to make boost? Do I need a mbc? I'm also gonna need a bpv or bov, can use a cheap eBay bov to save some money? Also where would a blow off valve line go to? Does it get recuirculated back into the intake?

Will a safc controller be more then enough if I only plan on running low psi? 5-8psi.

I will be doing all this hopefully on the cheapish. But I want to do it right so I'll buy what I have to.
93 legacy l
to much to list....
speedmaxx
Second Gear

Re: Turbo setup on a na 2.2l

Post by speedmaxx »

Bump

So no one knows about turbos? Lol
93 legacy l
to much to list....
asotwavb
First Gear

Post by asotwavb »

From my general background of messing with turbo charging a normally aspirated motor, its usually cheaper, more reliable and easier to swap drivetrains. Instead of boosting my NA i found an awesome condition SS for $2,000.

Then i didnt have to worry about blowing up my daily driver.
1992 Legacy Sport
speedmaxx
Second Gear

Post by speedmaxx »