2.2 na turbo'd but still having problems

Headlights to tailights and everything in between.

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

greenbeen
In Neutral

Post by greenbeen »

hello
i have a project that i have been working on for the last three months. i have a rail buggy that i transplanted a 2.2 na subaru engine out of a 93 legacy. i have got all of the wiring and installation done. i decided to turbo it while i was doing the install. i finally got it all put together last week and fired it up. the engine ran fine. i took it out for a ride and it ran great. but the next day i took it out and it started choking and sputtering as soon as i put it under a load. i did some checking and it didnt throw a code, so i bypassed the turbo and hooked it up naturally aspirated again and the engine ran fine with no problems. so i figured out it was the maf. what im wondering is, for all of the people turboing 2.2 n/a's. what are you doing for maf's? im not sure to maybe try a 2.2t maf. i know the sensors are different but not sure if would work for me.
PLEASE HELP
IM PULLING MY HAIR OUT ON THIS ONE AND I THINK IM ABOUT BALD.
THANKS
n2x4
Fourth Gear

Re: 2.2 na turbo'd but still having problems

Post by n2x4 »

What are you running for engine management?
SUBARUEHS Racing
greenbeen
In Neutral

Post by greenbeen »

i am running a stock ecm and wiring. i sent the harness out and had it rewired. i ended up figuring out my problem. i had a piece of rubber stuck in the bottom of the fuel tank. it ended up plugging up the suction line. but only part of the time and the fuel pressure would drop when it went to a boost situation. but it would build enough to keep the engine running but missing. so all in all, its fixed now and runs great.
thanks
BoostedSubie
Second Gear

Post by BoostedSubie »