engine swap

Heads, valves, pistons, rods, crankshaft, etc...

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

BadBenjamin
In Neutral

engine swap

Post by BadBenjamin »

hey guys. i have a few 02 and up subies but im new to the older ones. i came into a 91 legacy ss ej22t auto tranny but the tranny is shot. i also have a 95 impreza 5spd. i was thinking of swapping the ej22t into the impreza. would it be a direct swap in? will it work with that tranny? and what else would i need to do this? any help/advice is greatly appreciated. thanks guys
91 lss. 02 wrx wagon. 04 sti
Legacy777
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: engine swap

Post by Legacy777 »

Welcome to the BBS.

The biggest challenge you will have is the wiring. I believe most of the Impreza engine wiring harness goes into the firewall behind the engine. The turbo Legacy engine harness goes behind the battery and in the fender. To swap the engine, you would have to merge the two harnesses together to make everything work. Also, the ECU location & connectors are different between the two cars (up under the driver's side dash for the Legacy, and in the passenger footwell for the Impreza).

The engine will physically fit and bolt up, but like I said, the wiring will be the most daunting task. If you wanted to keep the Legacy, you'd be better off swapping the 5spd from the Impreza into the Legacy.
Josh

surrealmirage.com/subaru
1990 Legacy (AWD, 6MT, & EJ22T Swap)
2020 Outback Limted XT

If you need to get a hold of me please email me rather then pm
BadBenjamin
In Neutral

Post by BadBenjamin »

I didn't really want to keep the legacy I don't theink. The impreza is in better condition and the legacy is an automatic and I like 5 spds.
BadBenjamin
In Neutral

Post by BadBenjamin »

Wouldn't I be using the ecu from the 22 and not the impreza? So I wouldn't have to wire it up? And the 22 will work with the impreza tranny no problem? Would I need new motor mounts or anything else?
vrg3
Vikash

Post by vrg3 »